top of page

Week 6: Week in My Life



I decided to change up the format of my blog post for this week. I am going to be writing a short entry on things I did each day to show an accurate representation of what an average week is like being abroad here in Grenoble. Enjoy!


Sunday: As promised the update on the enchiladas. They turned out great! I thought they were very tasty. My host family all said they liked it- the mom went back for seconds. They were bean, corn and spinach enchiladas in a homemade enchiladas sauce. If I make them again I need to introduce them to some Spanish rice. My mom said I can cook anytime so I need to come up with some new ideas of what to make them.

Monday: I had my language class from 8:30-12:30 today. During this time I had my first exam since being here. My grade is dependent on three exams, and this was the first. I was very nervous but I think I did decent. I am not sure when/if I find out my grade. Afterwards I went back home and took a nice nap because I was still tired from the weekend. Then it was homework time. After I had ratatouille for dinner with the family.


Tuesday: The day started with my language class from 8:30-10:30. Then a three hour break where I saw my friend who just got back from a solo trip to Norway. I heard all about her experience traveling alone and seeing the Northern Lights. We had Thai at a new restaurant that neither of us had been to and I caught her up on my week. Then it was back to a class from another two hours from 1:30-3:30. This was a vocab class on cooking terms. Afterwards I returned home and did some work for awhile. My host mom made tempura vegetables for dinner and we had a cake for dessert that didn't have sugar, eggs, or gluten. Then it was off to volleyball with the host dad since it is Tuesday. We played for just under two hours. I may have got hit in the face...


Wednesday: I have afternoon classes on Wednesdays so the morning started out with sleeping in :) Then it was off to meet a friend for a little trip planning. Afterwards we hit up our usual place for tacos. We are now known as regulars at this restaurant. We have tried other places and this one is still the best. Then it was off to class. The first two hours were from 1:30-3:30. We analyzed a french poem "Gabriel Peri" by Paul Eluard. This was about this man who was a journalist and died in WWII in the fight against the Nazi's. Afterwards I had another two hours from 3:30-5:30 in my mythology and civilization class. I got back home around 6 then did homework until dinner. Tonight we had veggie burgers and fries. This was one of the best veggie burgers I have had in awhile. It was a prepackaged one as well so I was pleasantly surprised.


Thursday: We started class today with an excursion in Grenoble. We did a historical tour around the city and we started in the oldest cafe in the city. Afterwards we went back to class for about an hour. Then I had an hour lunch break when I had some good old fashion goat cheese and bread. From 1:30-3:30 I had a culture and society class. Afterwards I had an hour break where I did some homework. For my language class, I was selected to be the ambassador for my class. Today at 4:30 was the first meeting with the directors of the department. We shared with them the concerns of the other students in our classes and brainstormed ideas on how to solve them. This lasted almost two hours. Then it was off to go backpack shopping for me. I needed to get a backpacking backpack for the trip that I leave on tomorrow morning :) Dinner was chili tonight and I have spent the rest of the night packing and getting everything organized for an early morning!



Friday: It is winter break! Next week will be all about my travels :)


Weekly Sauri pic:


bottom of page